Toronto Dance Salsa Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How can you improve your dancing skills as a guy in a club?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Toronto Dance Salsa Forums Forum Index -> General Salsa Dance Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Crusader

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:48 pm    Post subject: How can you improve your dancing skills as a guy in a club? Reply with quote

Hi people,

I am taking the beginner's salsa class, and Sharon keeps saying "come out to the social" or to the club, or whatever. And I really do want to. But, whenever I go to a salsa club, after the initial lesson, I don't know what to do. I am a guy, and I should be leading, but if I am only a beginner, then I only know a few moves. It gets boring, especially for the girl. Furthermore, girls can just pick up a good dancer to dance with, and they will learn just by the act of following, but the same is not true for a guy. Or, am I missing something?

Having said all this, it seems pointless to me to go to a club/social. I am not going to improve my dancing skills because nobody is coaching me, and it's not like the girl is enjoying herself either, doing the same basic moves over and over again... So far, I know the curriculum from the beginners classes, plus a few other moves that I learned on the side.

The same question goes for other dances, only I know even fewer moves (cha-cha, bachata, merangue...).

Any suggestions guys? Smile

Thanks,

Crusader
Toby

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Crusader!